Merry Christmas!!

December 12, 2008 at 5:53 am 13 comments

Since I have been neglecting my blog while I do my part to stimulate the economy I thought I would throw in my holiday post. I have my O’Reilly bumper sticker out. The one that says “We say Merry Christmas”. No Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings to be socially correct. For me it is Christmas and I will say Merry Christmas.

24701_h_sw3501

First, my two favorite Christmas specials are coming on next week and I wanted to make sure that you have those dates and times. While I do love all the childrens specials, wish they would bring back some of the “old school” specials: LOVE the old Twas’ The Night Before Christmas which I DVR’d tonight!, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (with Loretta Swift – I do have the DVD and my kids love it), the animated Yes, Virginia there is a Santa Claus.

But I really like to watch a White House Christmas (on HGTV) and Christmas in Washington (TNT).

A White House Christmas airs on HGTV on Wednesday, December 17th at 9:00 pm (ET), 1:00 am (ET), December 24th at 9:00 am (ET), December 25th at 11:00 pm (ET), and 3:00 am (ET)

banner_01

Each year the White House is decorated with a different theme as chosen by the First Lady.  They show where the annual tree is chosen from and the honor it must be to have your tree chosen as the main tree. (the tree is HUGE) and then the massive amount of decorating that is done, super fast for White House functions. As well every year there is an ornament to represent each of the 50 states made by a local artisan in keeping with the years theme. The theme for 2008 is A Red, White, and Blue Christmas. This year’s theme celebrates the patriotic spirit that unites us as Americans. During this hopeful season we are reminded of the blessings of freedom we enjoy, and we renew our sense of what is important in our lives. Family and friends gather to share old traditions and create new ones.  HGTV is stepping inside the White House, filled with dozens of decorators, volunteers and staffers, to find out just what it takes to decorate the home of the President and the First Lady for the holidays. Sabrina Soto of Get It Sold hosts.
I love watching the chef, the decorators and hearing about the elaborate and beautiful decorations they do everywhere.

And Christmas in Washington airs on TNT on Wednesday, December 17th at 8:00 pm (ET) and 11:00 pm (ET) and December 18th at 2:00 am (ET)

This years annual Christmas in Washington is scheduled to feature platinum-selling, Grammy-winning Christian music group Casting Crowns, Tony-winning performer Kristin Chenoweth, rising country star Julianne Hough, Grammy winner Darius Rucker and a cappella sensations Straight No Chaser. Dr. Phil and Robin McGraw are slated to host the event for the fifth consecutive year. Annually attended by the President and First Lady and other Washington VIPs, this concert is a holiday music celebration benefiting the National Children’s Medical Center. (there are bios of each group available here)

There are some great groups! Casting Crowns and Straight No Chaser being the two I am most excited about this year. I look forward every year to seeing who is chosen to sing each of the songs in the medley at the end. But my absolute favorite part of the whole thing is the finale when the President and his wife join the choirs and performers on stage to sing Hark the Herald Angels. During the song the Army Herald Trumpets come out and play along. It always makes me happy. I rewind and watch it over and over.

And perhaps one of the best renditions of O Holy Night was on there too. Il Divo.

You may choose to have your holiday to celebrate your beliefs, but for me Christmas will always be about this . . .

nativityscene

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , .

Another spiffy poem . . . Barry, Barry Whatcha’ Do-ing How did it happen?

13 Comments Add your own

  • […] Christmas!! Posted in December 11th, 2008 by in Uncategorized Merry Christmas!! Since I have been neglecting my blog while I do my part to stimulate the economy I thought I would […]

  • 2. Whitehouse On Best Political Blogs » Merry Christmas!!  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:58 am

    […] Merry Christmas!! Since I have been neglecting my blog while I do my part to stimulate the economy I thought I would throw in my holiday post. I have my O’Reilly bumper sticker out. The one that says “We say Merry Christmas”. No Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings to be socially correct. For me it is Christmas and I will say Merry Christmas. First, my two favorite Christmas specials are coming on next week and I wanted to make sure that you have those dates and times. While I do love all the childrens specia […]

  • […] Merry Christmas!! « Right Wing Chicks A White House Christmas airs on HGTV on Wednesday, December 17th at 9:00 pm (ET), 1:00 am (ET), December 24th at 9:00 am (ET), December 25th at 11:00 pm (ET), and 3:00 am (ET). banner_01. Each year the White House is decorated with a … […]

  • […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas!! « Right Wing ChicksHere’s a quick excerptMerry Christmas!! Since I have been neglecting my blog while I do my part to stimulate the economy I thought I would throw in my holiday post. I have my O’Reilly bumper sticker out. The one that says “We say Merry Christmas”. … […]

  • […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas!! « Right Wing ChicksHere’s a quick excerptWhile I do love all the childrens specials, wish they would bring back some of the “old school” specials: LOVE the old Twas’ The Night Before Christmas which I DVR’d tonight!, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (with Loretta Swift – I do … […]

  • […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas!! « Right Wing ChicksHere’s a quick excerpt… school” specials: LOVE the old Twas’ The Night Before Christmas which I DVR’d tonight!, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (with Loretta Swift – I do have the DVD and my kids love it), the animated Yes, Virginia there is a Santa Claus. … […]

  • […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas!! « Right Wing ChicksHere’s a quick excerptI have my O’Reilly bumper sticker out. The one that says “We say Merry Christmas”. No Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings to be socially correct. For me it is Christmas and I will say Merry Christmas. … […]

  • […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onMerry Christmas!! « Right Wing ChicksHere’s a quick excerptWhile I do love all the childrens specials, wish they would bring back some of the “old school” specials: LOVE the old Twas’ The Night Before Christmas which I DVR’d tonight!, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (with Loretta Swift – I do … […]

  • 9. Kat  |  December 12, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Perfect!

  • […] Christmas!! « Right Wing Chicks Posted in December 12th, 2008 by in Uncategorized Merry Christmas!! « Right Wing Chicks A White House Christmas airs on HGTV on Wednesday, December 17th at 9:00 pm (ET), 1:00 am (ET), […]

  • 11. Nan Malin  |  December 13, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Twitter: @nansen
    Let’s tweet the specials together! Thanks for the listing. I am clearing my calendar!

  • 12. Bill Brauker  |  December 14, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Glad to see some of us are still celebrating Christmas. Merry Christmas to you.

  • 13. Christmas In Washington  |  December 28, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    […] Merry Christmas!!This years annual Christmas in Washington is scheduled to feature platinum-selling, Grammy-winning Christian music group Casting Crowns, Tony-winning performer Kristin Chenoweth, rising country star Julianne Hough, Grammy winner Darius . […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 64,799 hits

