Lies, Slander, Libel – Oh My!

October 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm Leave a comment

Lies, slander, libel, whatever your choice term is, They are false or malicious claims that may harm someones reputation. – Taken from Wiki.

Have you noticed it is more likely to be called slander or a lie if it is against whichever candidate you support?

I think the McCain and Obama camps have both been guilty of this. And complaining about the other one, is like the pot calling the kettle black.

(And please know that is not a racial slur here. If the saying could have been called the kettle orange I would have said it. But it is a very old saying with no malice or prejudice.)

It is not just slander because you don’t like what they are saying or they are denying what is being said. If you do read about these topics you will find there is some truth being purported as lies.

Read fact checking websites. Find reliable sources to back you up. Emphasis on reliable.

If you hear something you feel is questionable, research it yourself, from more than one place. Your source for news cannot be the same place all the time, every time. There is little room for denying that there is a bias on each and every media outlet. The spin is rampant.

All of them.

I personally think as a whole they tend to sway to the left. Except that FOX sways to the right. So there is no big surprise that I watch Fox. But I do watch CNN. I read news on CNN, MSNBC, FOX, Factcheck, local newspapers. I look at multiple sources and weigh out the answers.

It is my responsibility and right to make up my own mind. To do that I have to be educated. Not in the school sense, but I have to know what the issues are, read about candidates stances, check out stories as they come to light.

Place a basic litmus test on them and determine validity before you jump to conclusions. You might be surprised at the answers when you seek them.

You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.
How applicable.
How simple.
How true.

Just remember that your worldview is different from your neighbors. Each is shaped by so many different facets of life and personal values and beliefs. No matter how much you might try to convince me I am wrong. You won’t. It does not jive with my perception of right and wrong. I understand that about others too. It does not make me happy, but I don’t expect us all to think and believe the same things without controversy. If you choose to just believe and jump on the bandwagon you are just as bad as the lie you choose to perpetuate.

Personally, I think that some of the places they are going with smearing in this campaign are just going too low. And ultimately irrelevant.

Accusing Palin of lying about her baby? How absurd!
Implications and accusations against John McCain as a POW?

Obama and Biden have been subject to criticism that I find unfair and irrelevant as well. I find some of the Obama issues to be more issues with association and credibility. I do believe that you are ultimately who you have out with.

McCain and Palin are not racist, extremists spreading lies and hatred. Each camp thinks they are the ones that should win. Why can’t they focus on what THEY can offer and not bashing what the other guy does? Talk about themselves. I am tired of hearing hate speech all the time. Can’t you share the benefits of your guys plan instead of bashing personally all those who do not agree with you?

McCain is correcting people. There are extremists on both sides. Just take a peek at the DailyKos to see the far left extremists. There are also people who are just ignorant and don’t know any better. Not that there is an excuse for that, but McCain is also not responsible for their lack of knowledge.

I am pretty sure that there are plenty of people booing and yelling nasty stuff about Bush, McCain, and Palin at Obama rallies, but you are not hearing about that. Wonder why that is?

I can’t put my finger on it, but there is something about Obama that I just don’t trust, and that goes beyond just simply disagreeing with his political views.

I wish the corruption in our election process could end and we could simply focus on critical important issues instead of trying to best each other.

Looking forward to the last debate. Let’s hope we all get through with as little mud-slinging as possible.

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Obama & the Logan Act Yes on 8

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 63,298 hits

